top of page
  • monita tun

Talk Week

Updated: Oct 13, 2021



The main comment that stuck out to me was, my project being called "teenage narcism". I don't really know what that meant exactly. I understand that some teenagers can be self obsessive. However, that wasn't the concept of my video project. I did try my best to briefly explain it at the start of my talk before I played the video.


After that comment, it was followed up with the framing of my project. To make it in a way that actually co


nveys the concept. The concept was that I'm exploring my cousin's environment which I am a part of. Our relationship with each other. I'm being a mentor to her, a big sister because she never had that support in her life growing up. I went through the same thing.


I was asked, "what do you mean, you're her support? Because when you said that before seeing the video, I thought you applied that her parents died and you had to take care of her...". I explained that my family isn't the kind of family that gives you emotional support and that is who i am to my cousin. Her emotional and mental support. I know what it is like growing up in an environment with so much pressure of being a young woman.


Another members asked me, "how i picked my clips" - i explained that going through the footage i make sure i select clips that shows our authentic self and our relationship with each other. I also explained that i picked times where we forgot that the camera were on us, those were the times we were completely real and not awkward. A feed back I got told on this - "we don't really forget when the lens are on us, we're always conscious of it even when we 'forget' because in a way it shows how us woman are always being watched". I quite like that feedback and interpretation because that does makes a lot of sense. "Female through the male gaze". I don't know if i want to bring in the male gaze, into this project because this project is a bit more personal. Could be something I keep at the back of my mind.


I have to think about public viewing because apparently the concept might be a bit too personal.


Artists recommendations:

John Burgess

Laura Moly


My installation:




bottom of page