top of page
  • monita tun

My Main Artist Influences

If I die, please delete my Soundcloud (excerpt) NATASHA MATILA-SMITH - https://www.circuit.org.nz/film/if-i-die-please-delete-my-soundcloud-excerpt


Natasha’s short film influenced the way I shot my film. Her project is obviously way different to mine, but I love her style of work. I’ve checked out her other video projects. It was a major influence on the way my film was shot and how it was edited. My video project was my own personal style, but I took inspiration from Natasha. I gave me some motivation.



I couldn't get access to any of her films. I tried watching it Kanopy, but it sad it wasn't available for our country. All websites are all unavailable. But I did find an interview of her talking about filmmaking. Interesting listening her about her theories on filmmaking. A social experiment. Going beyond, "springing out" from the practice. She has traveled across Asia and her encounter with each cultures and understanding the boundaries. The different response and reaction to different viewers were interesting. I personally found Trihn interesting as a filmmaker and the lengths she'll go, also how passionate she is with filmmaking.




A Room of One’s Own - Virginia Woolf

I’m trying to do more reading. I couldn’t get the physical copy, but I found a PDF file online. It's a bit of a read and i didn't have a lot of time to read everything, but the points she made in her essay that woman, compared to men, tend to have the lack of freedom to voice their ideas. Over the centuries woman was had always been looked down. We're not fit for a "man's job". Woman are never taken seriously when they succeed. Times has changed... we are doing so much better now. But doesn't mean there isn't work to improve. This piece of reading didn't influence my work (in a physical sense), but it influenced my thinking. I'm really passionate about Feminism.



Little Woman (2019) Directed by Greta Gerwig - A Novel by Louisa May Alcott, 1869



bottom of page